Emilie Smith

Freelance designer

Emilie Smith does freelance work, volunteers in the community and just renovated a house last fall, almost entirely on her own. "I grew up helping my parents clean a couple rental properties they own, so I knew what I was getting myself into," she says. She spackled and sanded, and she installed new toilets, electrical outlets and light fixtures. "Now that I think about it, I probably should have said this as the accomplishment I'm most proud of," she jokes.

Age: 27.

Education background: B.S. in visual communication from Ohio University.

Pets: I have a Shar Pei mix named Wally from the Franklin County Dog Shelter and a saltwater tank with clown fish.

Favorite thing about living in Columbus: You really can get anywhere in Columbus in less than 30 minutes. And I love the OSU football hype. And the Blue Jackets.

Something about you most people don't know: I donate blood.

Favorite book: The Harry Potter series.

Favorite movie: The Game.

Favorite TV show: "Grey's Anatomy."

Favorite website: I'm on Facebook fairly often. And Twitter is growing on me.

Favorite band: Matchbox 20.

Guilty pleasure: Anything chocolate.

Dream vacation: I've never been to Europe, so it would be awesome to take a month or so and travel around. Or you can shoot me into space.

Proudest accomplishment: I volunteer at the Franklin County Dog Shelter and love when I can get a dog adopted.

If you won the lottery, what would you do with the money? I would take the lump sum. Right away, I'd pay off my house and my family's houses. I'd love to open a coffee shop with a bakery. And, hopefully, it's a large enough amount that I could live off the interest while being able to make donations, too.

Best place for a first date: Winking Lizard or Jeni's Ice Cream.

Best thing about being single: I don't have to coordinate schedules with someone else.

Worst thing about being single: Being single at an unannounced couples' party.

Idea of a perfect date: It would be awesome to take a weekend trip, just the two of us, to see the Buckeyes or Blue Jackets play out of town.

Silliest/craziest thing you've done to impress someone? I met a guy at college on the last day before summer vacation. He was a lifeguard in Myrtle Beach that summer and invited me to come down, so my girlfriends and I stayed with him after only knowing him one day. We ended up dating for two years.

Ideal mate: Nonsmoker, loves dogs, loves the Blue Jackets and the Buckeyes, has a college education and is involved in his community. Someone who respects me, treats me right, and wants to include me in his life, not just spare time.

Deal breaker: Smoking. And you have to like dogs.

This story appeared in the May issue of Columbus Monthly.