Jennifer Flatter

Legislative liaison, Ohio Department of Commerce

Jennifer Flatter keeps a busy schedule, between working to prevent home foreclosures, among other things, with the Ohio Department of Commerce and finishing her master's in public administration at Ohio University this June. When asked about the silliest thing she's ever done to impress someone, Flatter jokes, "I think it's a little silly for me to let Columbus Monthly feature me."

Age: 27.

Education: B.S., communications and political science, Capital University.

Favorite movie: The Sound of Music. I really admire other people who can sing, because I can't. I also enjoy historic fiction, and it's a great, classic story.

Favorite TV show: "The Young and the Restless."

Favorite book: The Kite Runner, by Khaled Hosseini.

Favorite food: I love Mexican food. You can't go wrong with spicy food.

Favorite music: I have a very diverse music selection. I really love Tom Petty, but I also enjoy Beyoncé.

Coffee or tea? I'm both, every day. Coffee in the morning and green tea in the afternoon.

Mountains or the beach? I love the beach.

Celebrity look-alike: I sometimes get Julia Louis-Dreyfus.

Guilty pleasure: I love to bake, so eating baked goods, especially anything that can be topped with ice cream.

If you won the lottery, how would you spend the money? Meet with a financial planner and learn how to invest. Then, pay off my condo and take my family on a few weeks' vacation to Hawaii.

One thing you never leave home without: My journal.

When I'm not working, I'm . . . Spending time at the gym or with my friends, aside from working on my degree.

Something not everyone would know about you: I was in a pageant in high school. It was a town festival in Arcanum, Ohio, called Old Fashioned Days. I didn't win, but I placed. It wasn't me, so it's just kind of funny now.

What are you most passionate about? I'm passionate about my career and the work I do, but also about health and fitness. I love to take spinning and a group fitness class called BodyAttack, which I'm working to get certified to teach.

Favorite restaurant: El Vaquero.

Idea of a perfect date: As long as the weather is nice, to do something outside. It would be fun to take a day trip to a park or lake and go boating or wakeboarding.

Best thing about being single: I only have to worry about myself. I can do whatever I want, whenever I want.

Worst thing about being single: I can't think of much, but it would be nice to have someone to help me with things around my condo.

Describe your ideal mate: Someone who makes me laugh. Trustworthy, supportive and compassionate toward others. He needs the ability to compromise, to share my interests and enjoy athletics.

This story appeared in the May 2010 issue.