Metallica, Deftones and Slipknot highlight year two of Sonic Temple

Andy Downing
Fans show their love of for Metallica at the opening of The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame new Play It Loud : Instruments of Rock & Roll exhibit in Cleveland on Thursday Nov. 21, 2019.

Previously announced headliner Metallica, which will perform full sets on two nights (Friday and Sunday), highlights the newly revealed 2020 lineup for Sonic Temple Art + Music Festival, which returns to Mapre Stadium for a second go-round May 15-17.

With Metallica pulling double duty, the sole remaining headlining slot will be filled by the masked men of Slipknot, while the undercard features a mixed bag of performers, none of which would have felt out of place back when the festival was still being billed as Rock on the Range.

Additionally announced performers include:

Deftones, Bring Me the Horizon, Evanescence, Staind, Sublime with Rome, Rancid, Dropkick Murphys, Cypress Hill, Pennywise, Royal Blood, the Pretty Reckless, Alter Bridge, Anthrax, Flatbush Zombies, Pop Evil, Hellyeah, Ghostemane, Suicidal Tendencies, Testament, Dance Gavin Dance, Ice Nine Kills, Sleeping with Sirens, the Darkness, Knocked Loose, Code Orange, Power Trip, Saint Asonia, Dirty Honey, Jinjer, City Morgue, Bones UK, Airbourne, Fire From The Gods, Dinosaur Pile-Up, Des Rocs, Counterfeit., Crobot, Cherry Bombs, DED, Goodbye June, Brutus, 3Teeth, Brkn Love, Killstation, Brass Against, Crown Lands, Ego Kill Talent, Dregg, Bloodywood and Zero 9:36.

While perusing the list of acts, feel free to make predictions on which sets will be rained out in 2020, since storm delays have become something of an annual tradition for the event. (Metallic is missing out on a prime opportunity if it opts not to perform Ride the Lightning in its entirety during one of its sets, IMO.)

In addition to the music roster, Sonic Temple also announced its initial lineup of visual/instillation artists, which includes: Nychos, Butch Locsin, Michael Reeder, Jason Naylor, Palehorse, Angryblue, Garageland, Urban Aztec, Brian Ewing, Paul Rentler, Omnigraphicon, Mad Pixel, Joe King and Taylor Springle.

Visit the official Sonic Temple site for more information or to purchase tickets.