Daily Distraction: Let Gerycz/Powers/Rolin light the way

Listen to the Columbus/Cleveland trio's new five-song release, 'Lamplighter'

Joel Oliphint
Columbus Alive
Jayson Gerycz, Jen Powers and Matthew J. Rolin

We've written a lot about guitarist Matthew J. Rolin, hammered dulcimer player Jen Powers and drummer Jayson Gerycz lately, but it's not our fault. These Ohio musicians keep releasing great music. We have no choice.

I won't recap all the recent instrumental output from solo Rolin, the Powers/Rolin duo and this trio (you can read that here), but I do want to hip you to the trio's newest release, Lamplighter, which is out today via American Dreams Records. (Bonus: The album art is by Rosali Middleman, a fantastic songwriter in her own right; check out her 2021 album, No Medium.)

If you're still a noob, Lamplighter is a good intro to Columbus' Powers/Rolin and Cleveland's Gerycz (also of Cloud Nothings), who got together at Gerycz's place in the fall of 2020 to record some almost entirely improvised jams. This five-song release offers both ends of the trio's sonic spectrum. "June" is a pretty, composed, three-minute track with a steady beat and some repeating chord changes, i.e. a somewhat traditional (though still exciting) "song."

Closing track "Jars of Glass," on the other hand, is a 15-minute slow burn of crystalline acoustic guitar picking and moody swells that gets increasingly chaotic as the song progresses, building to an absolute eruption around minute 13, when Rolin's electric guitar descends into mayhem and Gerycz's drums go wild until the song fades out to the low, pulsating thrum of distortion. 

Give it a listen below, via Bandcamp.