At least 1 Wang to get a CFDA award _ and maybe 2

Staff Writer
Columbus Monthly

NEW YORK (AP) — Alexander Wang and Proenza Schouler are among the leading nominees for this year's Council of Fashion Designers of America awards, topping a list of many familiar names.

CFDA president Diane von Furstenberg and CEO Steven Kolb announced Wednesday evening that Proenza's Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough, and Wang were in the running for both womenswear designer of the year, as well as Marc Jacobs. Jacobs and the Proenza duo have both won the category before, and Wang has received the Swarovski Award for emerging talent in women's design.

For the top accessories designer, Hernandez and McCollough, and Wang — all previous winners — will compete against Phillip Lim.

Thom Browne, Michael Bastian, and Steven Cox and Daniel Silver for Duckie Brown are the menswear nominees.

Vera Wang will get the lifetime achievement award, and Oscar de la Renta the Founders Award created in honor of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert, who the organization credits "with putting American fashion on the map."

Costume designer Colleen Atwood, whose credits include "Snow White and the Hunstman," ''Alice in Wonderland" and "Chicago," is getting the board of directors' tribute award, and Riccardo Tisci of Givenchy is being recognized with the international award.

Tim Blanks of is to receive the media award.

The newest round of designers competing for the Swarovski awards, which also include financial support, is:

—Womenswear: Shane Gabier and Christopher Peters for Creatures of the Wind; Carly Cushnie and Michelle Ochs for Cushnie et Ochs; and Erin Beatty and Max Osterweis for Suno.

—Menswear: Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne for Public School; Tim Coppens; and Todd Snyder.

—Accessories: Irene Neuwirth, Jennifer Meyer, and Pamela Love.

"The CFDA Fashion Awards celebrate American design talent and the influence our industry has across the globe," Kolb said in a statement. "This year's nominees and honorees represent the best and most creative talent of the past year as determined by a guild of their peers. We look forward to announcing our winners on June 3 and thank Swarovski for its long-time commitment to and support of the event."

The CFDA Fashion Awards Selection Committee includes the more than 400 members of the CFDA, along with top fashion retailers, journalists, and stylists.

The awards will be held June 3 at Lincoln Center.