WorBots place second at state competition in Cincy

CANDY BROOKS, ThisWeek Community News

The Worthington high school robotics team placed second in the state at a competition held May 17 in Cincinnati.

Team 4145, the WorBots, comprises 30 students from Worthington Kilbourne and Thomas Worthington high schools who are in the Project Lead the Way/Science Technology Engineering Mathematics programs at the two schools.

The team, in its third year, competes in FIRST robotics competitions. FIRST, which stands for For Inspiraton and Recognition of Science and Technology, is an extracurricular program that combines the excitement of a sport with the rigors of science and technology.

Each year, teams from around the world build robots to play an unusual game. The robots are built within six weeks, under strict rules and with limited resources.

Teams are challenged to raise funds, design a team brand, hone teamwork skills and build and program robots to perform prescribed tasks against a field of competitors.

This year, the robot had to grab a 24-inch-diameter exercise ball and shoot it into a goal seven feet above the ground.

The teams could score bonus points by shooting the ball over a truss in the middle of a field.

The Worthington team's mentors are Jason Salt, Tom Salt, Bill Kautz, Dave Truby, Eric Francis and coach Tom Karns.

They provided students with industry knowledge of pneumatics, electronics, AutoCAD and programming.

In March, the team competed in Cincinnati at the Queen City Regional, where they made it to the semifinal round, qualifying for the state tournament.

Members of the WorBots are Michael Althauser, Iric Bernal, Austin Blevins, Alan Brophy, Ryan Day, Alexandra Emrick, Jacob Francis, Ian Jones, Robert Kading, Cole Karhoff, Declan Liu, Deirdre Liu, Tim MacFarlane, Rodolfo Marroquin, Connor Miller, John Organiscak, Maria Pawluk, Adrian Rajab, Rylan Reese, Alex Reid, Alex Riggs, Graham Saunders, Lucien Schuenke, Tanner Shannon, Joy Smith, Jerry Strauss, Garrett Tout, Darius Turner, Ben Wallin and Tyler Webb.