The Parent Pulse: Reading, unicorns and WOSU news

Staff Writer
Columbus Parent

The Columbus Metropolitan Library Summer Reading Club is going high-tech this year. When the program, themed “Be a Hero. Read,” kicks off June 3, participants will be able to sign up and track their reading online for the first time. Patrons of all ages can earn prizes by completing activities or logging a certain number of hours, depending on age. CML will kick off the program with a special event featuring activities, music and food from 10 a.m. to noon June 3 at Main Library, 96 S. Grant Ave., Columbus. A special lineup of activities will be held at all 23 branches throughout the summer. The reading club runs through Aug. 5. Last year, 58,800 people participated. Sign up at columbuslibrary.org/summerreadingclub.

Unicorn Frappuccinos are gone. But if you're still captivated by the mythical horned creatures, a local author has a new children's book that's just as sweet—and less controversial.I Am a Unicorn! by Michaela Schuett (incidentally, a former graphic designer forColumbus Parent) follows the tale of a frog who believes he is a unicorn. The book, which was released May 16 by Sky Pony Press, is available online (including Amazon) and at select local stores. Check it out atmichaelaschuett.com/shop/unicorn.

Cub Shrub shoppers can now get their fix in a second location. The children's boutique, owned by Josh and Niki Quinn, got its start at 749 N. High St. in the Short North—not far from their first store, Tigertree, which primarily sells men's and women's clothing. Now, Cub Shrub has a sister store at 1157 Grandview Ave. The stores carry a mix of clothing, toys, books, baby shower gifts and accessories. Go to cubshrub.com for more information.

Fans of Daniel Tiger, Elmo andWild Kratts soon will have more chances to catch their favorite shows. WOSU Public Media launched a new PBS Kids channel May 15.WOSU Kidsmakes select children's programming available around the clock on TV (find it on digital 34.4 or 993 on Spectrum), atwosu.org/wosukids and pbskids.org, and on the PBS Kids app.

Kids can catch some of the characters in person from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. June 3 at COSI with activities, exhibits and characters from shows such asDaniel Tiger's Neighborhood,Clifford the Big Red Dog,Peg + CatandReady Jet Go!.Other events will be held throughout the summer including at the Ohio State Fair, Columbus Museum of Art and more, according to WOSU.