Song of the Day: New Yeasayer on Free Yr Radio comp

Staff Writer
Columbus Alive

The Free Yr Radio campaign, created to generate awareness and support for independent radio stations, announced the lineup for its annual benefit compilation, which features tracks from bands that participated in last year's Free Yr Radio tour. The MP3 version of the album costs only 99 cents, and all profits go to partner radio stations. [Buy it] This year's tour dates are pending, though it has come to Columbus in the past.

Among the great songs is Yeasayer's clear homage to Talking Heads. You've probably read about my affection for the Brooklyn psych band, though they've dropped the Genesis influence I've noticed for an unabashed love of David Byrne's quirks.

Complete list:

1. !!! – Must Be The Moon (Live at KEXP) 2. Chairlift – At My Side 3. Yeasayer – Final Path (Daytrotter Sessions) 4. White Williams – Blue Steel 5. Dan Deacon – Cave Birth 6. No Age – Padded Chair 7. Mudhoney – The Lucky Ones (Live) 8. King Khan & Saba Lou – Past and Gone 9. The Secret Machines – The Walls Are Starting To Crack (Live at KEXP) 10. The Walkmen – In The New Year (Live) 11. Tokyo Police Club – Your English Is Good (K-Os Remix) 12. Jamie Lidell – Rope of Sand (Live at Austin City Limits)